Skip navigation

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)
by Rick Riordan

4 of 5 stars false
I could easily get over critical on these books, pointing out every flaw. I had a good knowledge base for the greek myths, since they fascinated me when I was a young kid. But these books are about having fun and enjoying a fast paced story. I was first introduced when I saw the movie. It was nothing miraculous, but I enjoyed the references. I decided to read the book, book fairly similar, so I don’t know which I like better. The book is ADD, something is always happening, and it makes for a quick read, with some nice humor added in. I even learned a few things about greek mythology. It was an enjoyable book, and the series is good too. The only problem is that it never feels like Percy is in much danger, as he is constantly facing and fighting gods, monsters, and titans. Plus, it is in first person voice, so he obviously doesn’t die (although this would be one of the few books that could pull it off, having him talk as a spirit). If you want to learn about greek mythology (although in a twisted, modern way with gods who are jerks), then this would be a fun book to do so.
2 Comments

  1. i agree that, as you put it, the book is “ADD”. the characters are always getting sidetracked and interuppted on their way to complete their quest, which makes me think Riordan could not think of a better way to fill the book up and was running out of ideas. this is, however, his first book in the series, so you can not blame him as much as if he had done it in, say, the fourth of fifth. I also enjoyed the spin-off series a lot more when Percy is being viewed in the 3rd person and is in more danger. I disagreed when you said the book and movie were similar, though. i found the totally and disturbingly different!!!!

  2. I guess I meant that the basic plot was similar, as in the same events, although the book had a lot more going on and was more fleshed out, not relying on stars like Uma Thurman to carry it. It has been a while since I saw the movie, as well, so it probably is a lot different in style and tone.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

